Additional Designated Countries of Origin announced

Posted on May 30, 2013

Effective May 31, 2013, the list of Designated Countries of Origin (DCOs) is expanding to include Chile and South Korea. DCOs are democratic countries that offer state protection, have active human rights and civil society organizations, and do not normally produce refugees. Under Canada’s new asylum system, all eligible claimants from designated countries continue to receive a full and fair hearing on the individual merits of their claims at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada within 30-45 days. Claimants from non-designated countries receive a hearing within 60 days. Failed claimants from designated countries may still appeal to the Federal Court to review a negative decision, but they do not have access to the Refugee Appeal Division at the IRB.

For more information, please click here.


REQUESTA Consultation

Please fill out the form below. We will get back
to you as soon as possible.




Please select the Diamond and click the Submit button.


Latest News