Three Appointments to the Immigration and Refugee Board

Posted on May 24, 2013

There have been three new appointments to the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB). Timonthy J. Crowhurst, George F. Pemberton and W.J. Sterling Sunley were appointed for three-year terms in the Vancouver Regional office. These appointments were made in accordance with the IRB’s merit-based selection process, in which candidates must demonstrate by way of a written exam, interview and reference checks, the competencies required for this role.

The IRB was created in 1989 as an indepedent administrative tribunal that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism. The Board has 4 divisions: the Refugee Protection Division, the Refugee Appeal Division, the Immigration Division, and the Immigration Appeal Division. The IRB determines refugee protection claims made in Canada, hears immigration and refugee appeals, and conducts admissibility hearings as well as detention reviews.

For more information, please click here.


REQUESTA Consultation

Please fill out the form below. We will get back
to you as soon as possible.




Please select the Star and click the Submit button.


Latest News